Bill Nye and the Planetary Society Are Recipients of 2014 Spirit of Yuri’s Night Award

The Yuri’s Night Board of Directors is extremely proud to announce that they have voted to award Bill Nye and the Planetary Society the 2014 “Spirit of Yuri’s Night” Award for using science and art to change the world!

Bill Nye Yuri's Night Award

Bill Nye shows off the Aerogel Spirit of Yuri’s Night Award.

The Spirit of Yuri’s Night Award, chosen each year by the Yuri’s Night Board of Directors, recognizes “a person or persons that embody the Yuri’s Night mission of using space and art to contribute to the future of humanity, both in space and on Earth.” Previous winners of the Spirit of Yuri’s Night Award, the highest award that can be given out by the Yuri’s Night Global Executive Team, include private space adventurer Richard Garriott, astronaut Ron Garan and NASA Ames Center Director Dr. Pete Worden, and Commander Chris Hadfield.

The Yuri’s Night team is always excited to see all the amazing work that Bill and The Planetary Society does to reach the public and get them excited about science and space.

Yuri's Night

This is an article written by the Yuri's Night team and is not user contributed content. If you have any questions or comments, we welcome your emails at